TD Toronto Jazz Festival 2012

A strong contingent of young musicians will make up a large part of the TD Toronto Jazz Festival according to full line-­‐up unveiled today. Now more than ever, young artists are in prominent positions taking jazz, and thus music itself, in a new direction. This line-­‐up, together with the Festival’s commitment to enhance educational programming, allows the Festival to help push music forward and foster the next generation of great musicians.
Artists such as Hiromi, Joshua Redman, The Bad Plus, Saidah Baba Talibah, Gretchen Parlato and Janelle Monae will be featured on the Toronto Star Stage inside the Mainstage Marquee at Nathan Phillips Square, joining previously announced young artists such as bassist Esperanza Spalding, Trombone Shorty and acclaimed guitarist Derek Trucks (of Tedeschi Trucks Band).

Friday, June 22 – Janelle Monae
Saturday, June 23 – TBA
Sunday, June 24 – Hiromi / The Bad Plus w. special guest Joshua Redman *Monday, June 25 – Roy Hargrove’s RH Factor (Roberta Gambarini Quartet opening) *Tuesday, June 26 – George Benson (Treasa Levasseur opening)
*Wednesday, June 27 – Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue (Saidah Baba Talibah opening) *Thursday, June 28 – Esperanza Spalding (Gretchen Parlato opening)
*Friday, June 29 – Tedeschi Trucks Band
Saturday, June 30 – Joan Osbourne Duo
Sunday, July 1 – Sierra Leone’s Refugee All-­‐Stars
*these concerts have been previously announced
Tickets are on sale through Ticketmaster or by calling 1.855985.5000

TD Toronto Jazz Festival

Sean Chin

Publisher & Chief Editor at Live in Limbo. Host & Producer of the Capsule Podcast. Lover of music, films and technology. Sean is a an award-winning photographer and Nikon Professional Services member. His work has appeared on CBC, Pitchfork and MUCH. And has been involved in the Toronto music scene since 2005. You should follow him on Twitter @SeanChin.

0 comments